top of page
ezgif.com-webp-to-jpg-converted.jpg

Symi Castle

The castle is on the slopes of the hill overooking the port of Yialos and the town of Symi.

It used to be an ancient acropolis in the location and the ancient walls became part of the castle built there by the Knights of the Order of St John in 1407.

It was never a particularly strong or impressive castle but was sufficient for the protection against pirate raids.

The little bay is not visible from the open sea and the Knights kept there a fleet of light ships. A small arsenal built and repaired these vessels. Over the years, the islanders acquired a reputation as carpenters which lasted until the early XXth century.

The castle and the island remained at the hands of the knights until the Ottoman conquest in 1522.

Symi Castle Story

The Venetian Castle of Simi, Dodecanese: The Byzantine Castle on the island of Simi was also the site of the Knights Castle, built by the Knights of Saint John in the 14th century. The Knights Castle shared a wall with the ruins of the Byzantine Castle, many of which are still visible. The castle also shares the wall that surrounds the Acropolis, on top of the hill.

The castle contains an emblem of the Knights of Saint John over the main entrance and is located at the highest point of the Upper Town. It overlooks the harbor on one side and a small valley on the other, offering a breathtaking view of the entire town as well as of the Aegean Sea beyond it. There is also a small chapel dedicated to the Virgin Mary (Kyra Panagia). This chapel occupies the highest point on the castle and offers spectacular views of the towns of Horio and Yialos.

Symi Castle Photos

bottom of page